Print Logo
MSU Home :: News :: Hill's series 'How Hollywood Does It' to premiere on KET

Hill's series 'How Hollywood Does It' to premiere on KET

1/3/2013
  • Hill 1-13 web
    Jeffrey Hill
Jeffrey Hill, associate professor in Morehead State University’s Department of Communication, Media and Leadership Studies, will have his new series “How Hollywood Does It” premiere in January on Kentucky Educational Television (KET).

The program, which looks at film history and techniques, will begin airing on Jan. 12 and run weekly through the end of March. The program is written and hosted by Hill and Dr. Mark Graves, associate professor of English. The program was filmed in the television studio in Breckinridge Hall.

Current students along with alumni assisted in the production of the project. Hill received a Kentucky Humanities Council/National Endowment for the Humanities grant to help defray the costs of the project (any views expressed in this program do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities). The Caudill College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences also helped with project expenses.

The series schedule is listed below.

Early Cinema #101 - A discussion about the birth of cinema in the late 1800s through the talkies in 1928. Included are early films from Thomas Edison, the Lumiere Brothers and George Melies. KETKY, Saturday, Jan. 12, at 12:30 a.m.; KET, Monday, Jan. 14, at 2:30 a.m.

The Golden Age #102 - This program focuses on the classical Hollywood era of the 1930s through the 1950s. The hosts discuss and present clips from some of the films which made this era of Hollywood so memorable. The show will air on KETKY, Saturday, Jan. 19, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, Jan. 21, at 2:30 a.m.

Directing #103 - Explores films from major directors of cinema and how a script is formatted. The show will air on KETKY, Saturday, Jan. 26, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, Jan. 28, at 2:30 a.m.

Editing #104 Editing - Discusses how a film is cut to create the story we see on the screen. A number of different examples are presented in this program. KETKY, Saturday, Feb. 2, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, Feb. 4, at 2:30 a.m.

Mise-en-scene #105 - Looks at how filmmakers make decisions about what is put before the camera. Mise-en-scene includes costumes, props, set design, positioning of actors, and so on. KETKY, Saturday, Feb. 9, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, Feb.11, at 2:30 a.m.

Documentary #106 - Talks about some of the different styles of documentary filmmaking from the birth of cinema to present day. Included are a number of clips from classic documentary films. KETKY, Saturday, Feb. 16 at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, Feb. 18, at 2:30 a.m.

Genre #107 - Explores what characteristics indicate a film genre like horror, musical, Western, comedy, etc. and how viewers understand the story put before them. KETKY, Saturday, Feb. 23, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, Feb. 25 at 2:30 a.m.

Lighting #108 - Discusses what tools are used to create different lighting set-ups and uses a number of examples to illustrate how this important element is decided. KETKY, Saturday, March 2, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, March 4, at 2:30 a.m.

Cinematography #109 - Looks at what a camera operator is responsible for and how s/he makes the decisions to create the look the director desires. KETKY, Saturday, March 9, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, March 11, at 2:30 a.m.

Sound #110 - Investigates the various types of sound, how they are recorded, and how they are incorporated in a film. KETKY, Saturday, March 16, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, March 18, at 2:30 a.m.

Overseas Cinema #111 - Discusses some of the major foreign film movements, such as Italian Neo-Realism and French New Wave. KETKY, Saturday, March 23, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, March 25, at 2:30 a.m.

Animation #112 - Includes two practical animated tutorials as well as some classical animation from the early 1900s. KETKY, Saturday, March 30, at 12:30 a.m. and KET, Monday, April 1, at 2:30 a.m.

For more information, you can reach Hill at 606-783-9383 or j.hill@moreheadstate.edu; or go to the KET website at ket.org, click on PROGRAMS A-Z, and scroll down to “H” for How Hollywood Does It.

© Copyright 2014 Morehead State University - 150 University Blvd. Morehead, KY 40351 • 1.800.585.6781
MSU is an affirmative action, equal opportunity, educational institution.