Skip to main content

Student Media Board

Revision Date: Standing Committee, last revision March 2019.

Purpose: To review and make recommendations on policies related to The TRAIL BLAZER and NewsCenter.

Membership: Voting membership of the committee shall consist of one faculty and/or staff member appointed by the President to represent the President, two non communications faculty members representing the faculty at large (At least one faculty member shall be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should not hold a majority of faculty membership on the committee.) (appointed by the President from three nominations for each position made by the Faculty Senate), two staff members representing the staff at large (appointed by the President from three nominations for each position made by the Staff Congress), the Associate Dean of the Department of Communication, Media and Languages (ex officio), three student currently majoring in convergent media and not holding an editorship of The Trail Blazer or the directorship on NewsCenter, selected by electronic media majors; two students not majoring in communications or serving on the staff of The Trail Blazer and NewsCenter representing the students at large selected by the Student Government Association in consultation with The TRAIL BLAZER and NewsCenter Director; and the faculty advisors to The TRAIL BLAZER and NewsCenter (ex officio voting). The editors of The TRAIL BLAZER and NewsCenter 12 shall be voting members during their tenure in that position. Terms for staff and faculty shall be two years with no more than one half in each category being replaced each year. Terms of service may not be successive. Term of service for the students shall be one year beginning each fall, with a possible one year reappointment.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • To support the student media in their role of serving their readership and viewing audience.
  • To assure that personnel are appointed for proper management and production of the student media.
  • To adopt and implement policies and procedures necessary for the efficient management and production of the student media.
  • To review and recommend an annual budget for each student media.
  • To select students for, and where necessary dismiss students from, executive staff positions on each student media operation. The executive positions shall be designated as
    • The Trail Blazer
      • Editor
      • Managing Editor
      • News Director
      • Assignment Editor
  • To monitor the laboratory functions of the student media and to assure that the academic functions are being carried out.
  • To arbitrate in all controversial matters concerning student media.
  • To arbitrate in all appeals relating to the discipline or dismissal of a staff member of a student publication or media operation.
  • To approve and implement editorial, fiscal, production and personnel policies for the student media.
  • To review operating procedures as they relate to governmental regulatory guidelines, procedures and policies.

Officers: Chair - Associate Dean of the Department of Communication, Media and Languages who shall vote only in case of tie; a Vice Chair and a Secretary to be selected by the committee from the membership.

Frequency of Meetings: Minimum of nine times during the academic year.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the President. Recommended changes in policies and procedures shall be reported to the Faculty Senate and Staff Congress.

Minutes and Proposals Copied to: The Library, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, and Staff Congress.

Support Services: Associate Dean of the Department of Communication, Media and Languages




The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

  • Sylvia Henneberg, Chair, Communication, Media and Languages, Position filled ex-officio
  • John Flavell, Advisor, Trailblazer, ex-officio
  • Tim Creekmore, Advisor, NewsCenter, ex-officio
  • Lakota Daneyl Tackett, Editor, Trailblazer
  • Joshua Grogan, Student, Strategic Communication, 1-year term
  • Celene Dorsey, Student, Convergent Media, 1-year term
  • Olivia Dale, Student, Non-Communication, 1-year term
  • Angelique Clay, Student, Non-Communication, 1-year term  
  • Madison Buchanon, Student, Convergent Media, 1-year term
  • Alyssa Williams, News Director, NewsCenter
  • Monica Himes, Faculty, Presidential Appointment 2020-22
  • Kurt Gibbs, At-Large Faculty, 2019-21
  • Amanda Lewis, Staff, Presidential Appointment 2019-21
  • Sharnetta Fritts, Staff, Presidential Appointment 2019-21
  • Anthony Dotson 2020-23 At-Large Faculty, 2020-22

* All 1-year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year.