Skip to main content

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Revision Date: Advisory Committee is mandated by the Public Health Service (PHS) Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals. Last revision, April 2017.
Purpose: To oversee the use of animals in research according to applicable federal, state, and local policies.

Membership: Membership shall consist of at least five members including the following: one Doctor of Veterinary Medicine with training or experience in laboratory animal science and medicine who has direct or delegated program responsibility for activities involving animals at the institution; one institutional member whose primary concerns are in a nonscientific area; two members who are not affiliated with the institution in any way other than as members of the IACUC and are not members of the immediate family of a person who is affiliated with the institution; one representative from each department using animals for research or teaching, qualified by training and experience to judge the appropriateness of animal use in experimentation and teaching; and the Director of Research Integrity & Compliance as the non-voting representative from Research and Sponsored Programs. All members shall be "qualified through experience and expertise . . . to oversee the institution's animal program, facilities, and procedures." (Public Health Service Policy on Humane Care and Use of Laboratory Animals, Revised September 1986, p. 5) Members shall be appointed by the President with only one member from a department, except Veterinary Technology, which includes the Attending Veterinarian and a representative from the department. Term of service shall be three years with terms staggered so that the majority of the membership is retained each year. The Associate Vice President for Research & Dean of The Graduate School shall serve as the Institutional Official to external agencies.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • To maintain institutional compliance with the Animal Welfare Act, PHS Policy, and any other applicable federal, state, or local regulations. This includes but is not limited to:
    • Requiring all users of laboratory animals at the institution to submit an application and receive approval for animal use prior to initiation of such animal use.
    • Inspection and review, at least every six months, of all animal use areas and housing facilities including:
      • Practices involving pain to animals,
      • The condition of the animals, and
      • Compliance with approved protocols.
    • Maintain files of protocol reviews, inspection reports, remedial actions recommended for each animal use area, and reports of corrective action taken.
    • Submission of all applicable assurance statements and reports as needed to maintain compliance with the laws and regulations.

Officers: Chair to be appointed by the President. Vice Chair is to be selected by the committee from the membership.  Administrative support provided by Research and Sponsored Programs. The Institutional Official is the Associate Vice President for Research & Dean of The Graduate School

Frequency of Meetings: As required.

Reporting Channels: Advisory to the Director of Research Integrity & Compliance.

Open Session Minutes:  Open session minutes retained in Research and Sponsored Programs (published minutes meet federal guidelines on confidentiality). Closed session minutes retained in Research and Sponsored Programs and are confidential.

Support Services: Research and Sponsored Programs.




The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. For the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, the procedure is to notify the IACUC Chair.  In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

  • Charla Burchett, Non-Scientist Area, 2019-22
  • David Eisenhour, Chair, COS, 2019-22
  • Vacancy, Community Representative, 2020-23
  • Lauren Mirus, Veterinary Medicine, Attending Veterinarian, 2018-21
  • Amy Staton, Vice-Chair, COS, 2018-21
  • Bodie Stevens, Community Representative, 2019-2022
  • Wesley White, Psychology, 2020-23
  • Terry White, Facilities, 2020-23

* All 3 year terms end Aug. 15.