Skip to main content

Student Affairs Committee

Revision Date:  Revised April 1994; May 2020
Purpose: To review and recommend policies and other non-curricular proposals relating to student engagement on campus.



  • Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Dean of Students
  • Director of Student Activities or designee
  • Director of Housing or designee
  • Director of Financial Aid or designee
  • Executive Director of Auxiliary Services


Voting Members

  • President of the Student Government Association
  • Four faculty members, one from each college, to be selected by the Faculty Senate
  • Two professional staff members
  • Four students


Membership Rules

Faculty and staff members shall serve two-year offset terms, guaranteeing a turnover of half this group each year.  At all times, one faculty member must be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should never make up a majority of the faculty representation on the Committee.
Student members shall serve one-year terms
All one-year terms end on August 15 of each fiscal year.

Membership Selection Process

  1. Faculty members shall be chosen and approved by a majority vote of the Faculty Senate. In the event the Faculty Senate rejects a candidate, the Chair-Elect of Faculty Senate may nominate a new candidate for the position.
  2. Staff members shall be chosen by the Staff Congress
  3. Student members shall be chosen by the Student Government Association

Duties and Responsibilities

The Committee shall:

  • Review and recommend policies and other non-curricular proposals relating to student engagement on campus, including, but not limited to, the following:
    • the Student Conduct Code,
    • student organizations,
    • student housing,
    • student health and counseling service,
    • student financial assistance,
    • student recreation and entertainment,
    • campus dining services.
  • Review activity reports of the Offices of Student Activities, Housing, and Enrollment Services once each semester.
  • Advise on matters related to the quality of life for resident and non-resident students.


  • A chair, a vice-chair, and a secretary are to be selected by the Committee from its membership.
  • Frequency of Meetings: The Committee shall meet a minimum of once per semester.
  • Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Minutes and Proposals: To be filed with the Office of Student Affairs, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, Staff Congress, and the Library.
  • Support Services: Office of Student Affairs


The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

  • Darrin DeMoss, COS, 2021-2023
  • Nettie Brock, CCAHSS, 2021-2023
  • Janet Cline, RSPR, 2020-22
  • Delar Singh, COE, 2020-2022 
  • Stephen Brigham, CBT, 2020-2022 
  • VACANCY, Prof/NF
  • Max Amons, Dean of Students, Position Filled nonvoting
  • Mike Esposito, Dir, Student Activities/Greek Life, Position Filled nonvoting
  • Denise Trusty, Dir, Financial Aid, Position Filled nonvoting
  • Benjamin Skeens, Student, CCAHSS, 1-year term
  • Hannah Roberts, Student, COS, 1-year term
  • Morgan Johnson, Student, COE, 1-year term
  • Connor Tilford, Student, CBT, 1-year term
  • Emily Wiley, President, SGA, Position Filled

* All 1-year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year.