Skip to main content

Staff Congress

Notice: As the elected leadership of Staff Congress, Faculty Senate, and Student Government Association of Morehead State University:

We contend:

  • Active, intentional, and continued engagement with diverse individuals and communities makes us a healthier, stronger, and more vibrant campus community.
  • Institutional and individual belief systems that do not value diverse people and ideas in an inclusive experience will not be tolerated on our campus.

We will:

  • Promote further engagement with diverse individuals and communities.
  • Highlight existing and forthcoming opportunities for collaborative and creative thinking that will leave no room for the many layers of racism.
  • Acknowledge where racism and bias exist and share our platform with diverse individuals to highlight those areas.

We assert that silence about any racism is institutional complicity. We have an opportunity to move forward in a way that more closely aligns with our institutional core values. Given the recent event involving an inappropriate racially insensitive email to a prospective student, this is where we start—Black lives do matter.

In order to create a stronger bond within the staff, to promote cooperation among the administration, faculty, students, and staff of Morehead State University, we, the staff of this university, do establish a representative body to be known as the Staff Congress. The Staff Congress is established as an advisory body reporting to the University's chief executive officer. Further, we pledge to administer faithfully the policies and objectives which best fulfill the needs, concerns, and interests of the University in achieving its educational goals.

Area Geographic Breakdown

  • Area 1: CHER Building, Enrollment Services, Howell-McDowell Adm. Bldg., Kentucky Traditional Music Center, Kentucky Folk Art Center, University Farm/Vet Tech.
  • Area 2: ADUC, Allie Young Hall, Button Hall, Camden-Carroll Library, Combs Building, Fields Hall, Lappin Hall, Lloyd Cassity, Reed Hall.
  • Area 3: Alumni Tower, Claypool-Young Art Building, Ginger Hall, Rader Hall, Recreation & Wellness Center, Space Science Center.
  • Area 4: Baird Music Hall, Breckinridge Hall, Grote-Thompson Hall, Laughlin/Wetherby, Procurement Services, Rice Maintenance Building.
  • Area 5: AAC, Eagle Center/Wellness Center, Eagle Trace, Educational Services Building, Ashland SBDC, Montgomery Co. Adult Ed Center, MSU @ Ashland, MSU @ Mt. Sterling, MSU @ Prestonsburg, Power Plant, All other off-campus locations.