Skip Menu

Student Affairs Committee

Revision Date: Revised April 1994; May 2020

Purpose: To review and recommend policies and other non-curricular proposals relating to student engagement on campus.



  • Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Dean of Students
  • Director of Student Activities or designee
  • Director of Housing or designee
  • Director of Financial Aid or designee
  • Executive Director of Auxiliary Services

Voting Members

  • President of the Student Government Association
  • Four faculty members, one from each college, to be selected by the Faculty Senate
  • Two professional staff members
  • Four students

Membership Rules: Faculty and staff members shall serve two-year offset terms, guaranteeing a turnover of half this group each year. At all times, one faculty member must be a Faculty Senator, but Faculty Senators should never make up a majority of the faculty representation on the Committee.

Student members shall serve one-year terms

All one-year terms end on August 15 of each fiscal year.

Membership Selection Process: Faculty members shall be chosen and approved by a majority vote of the Faculty Senate. In the event the Faculty Senate rejects a candidate, the Chair-Elect of Faculty Senate may nominate a new candidate for the position.

Staff members shall be chosen by the Staff Congress

Student members shall be chosen by the Student Government Association

Duties and Responsibilities: The Committee shall:

  • Review and recommend policies and other non-curricular proposals relating to student engagement on campus, including, but not limited to, the following:
    • The Student Conduct Code,
    • Student organizations,
    • Student housing,
    • Student health and counseling service,
    • Student financial assistance,
    • Student recreation and entertainment,
    • Campus dining services.
  • Review activity reports of the Offices of Student Activities, Housing, and Enrollment Services once each semester.
  • Advise on matters related to the quality of life for resident and non-resident students.

Officers: A chair, a vice-chair, and a secretary are to be selected by the Committee from its membership.

Frequency of Meetings: The Committee shall meet a minimum of once per semester.

Reporting Channels: Recommendatory to the Vice President for Student Affairs

Minutes and Proposals: To be filed with the Office of Student Affairs, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association, Staff Congress, and the Library.

Support Services: Office of Student Affairs


The procedure for resignation from a University Standing Committee is written notification to the University Standing Committee chairperson, Faculty Senate secretary, and the faculty member’s Department Chair. In the absence of a University Standing Committee Chairperson, the notification may be sent to the Faculty Senate secretary and the faculty member’s Department Chair.

  • Darrin DeMoss, COS, 2021-2023
  • Nettie Brock, CCAHSS, 2021-2023
  • VACANT, RSPR, 2022-24
  • Janet Ratliff, CBT, 2022-24
  • VACANCY, Prof/NF
  • Max Amons, Dean of Students, Position Filled nonvoting
  • Mike Esposito, Dir, Student Activities/Greek Life, Position Filled nonvoting
  • Denise Trusty, Dir, Financial Aid, Position Filled nonvoting
  • VACANT, Student, CCAHSS, 1-year term
  • VACANT, Student, COS, 1-year term
  • VACANT, Student, COE, 1-year term
  • VACANT, Student, CBT, 1-year term
  • Chloe Marstiller, President, SGA, Position Filled

* All 1-year terms end Aug. 15 of each fiscal year.

Contact Information

Faculty Senate

Susan Perry, Faculty Senate Secretary
302A Ginger Hall

PHONE: 606-783-2598